As the Snapchat is the applications for sharing content and chatting with your friends, it has many options as many other apps. Social media apps allow you sharing photos, videos, links with friends, but also give you the possibility to choose who you want to see your shared content.
This became possible by adding the option to make our post or story private. So, how to make a private story on Snapchat? We will discuss this topic in the text below, so stay tuned if you find it interesting.
See also: How to trim a video on Snapchat
Story on Snapchat
These days, sharing stories on Snapchat is quite a popular way to inform your friends about some details regarding your life. People share photos of their favorite activities, from traveling and vacation, photos of food, pets, family, selfies, or videos of anything they find funny and interesting. But sometimes they don’t want to allow anyone to see their story, probably because they are about to share something specific that want the targeted audience to see. This means they have shared a private story.
The private story is an adjusted type of sharing a story, where the publisher of the story chooses who he wants to see his story. This means that story is shared and visible only to the people that the publisher allowed to see it. Anyway, the stories on Snapchat are available only for 24 hours and the user can add three private stories in a row.
Create a private story
It is very easy to create a private story on Snapchat, and it is almost as same as making the regularly shared story, with just a little difference. First, go to your Snapchat app and log in. Now, you are supposed to click on the icon placed in the upper left corner of your screen. This is the main menu, usually represented by bitmoji or as a thumbnail story.
Once you have opened the menu, look for the option named as +Private Story. You will find it in the Story section. The app may ask you to confirm that you want to share a private story. In that case, you should click on the Private Story option once again.
Once you confirmed that you want to share a private story, you will have shown a list of friends. You should choose those friends you want to allow to see your story. At this point, when you have chosen the friends to share a private story with, you can go to the next step.
The next step is to share the story. Before doing so, you can add filters, elements, text, or anything you like on your story. Then click on the Send option. Your private story is going to be shared with the friends you have selected from the list. The other will not be able to see it.
How do people see my story?
You should not be worried that your private story will be shown up to the people you have not checked on the list. They will not see your private story, but if you share any other regular story, they will be able to see it, but yet not the private one.
If your friends use an Android device and you permitted them to see your private story by choosing their name from the list of friends who are allowed to see the private story of yours, they will see your private stories divided. When it comes to friends who use the iPhone, they will see your private story and the regular stories together, mixed, in a row as they were shared.