Gmail is one of the most widely used Email platforms. Not only is it easy for companies to set up domains, but it also gives all employers with the email account access to all the Google applications. That said, emails are generally used in a professional setting. There are a few rules that should be followed when sending an email. Firstly, proofread the email to avoid mistakes. Secondly, always ensure that the email is written in a polite or neutral tone. However, it may be inevitable that we sometimes send an email with mistakes we have overlooked. Thus, we will be showing you how to un-send emails in Gmail.
See also: How to create a group in Gmail
How to unsend emails in Gmail: Solution and steps to follow
Gmail has this function enabled on all of its newest versions. However, in case you may have accidentally switched this function off or run an older version, we will be teaching you how to enable this function.
Enabling and setting up un-send duration:
- On your laptop, head onto gmail.com
- Sign in to your Gmail account using your email and password.
- You would then be directed to your main email page where you can see all the emails within your inbox. Above this list of emails, there would be an icon of cogs. Click on this icon to reveal a drop-down menu.
- From the options available, pick Settings. This is usually the third option from the top.
- This redirects you to your Gmail General settings where you can customize the options to optimize your Gmail experience. Scroll down until you see the setting Undo Send. It is usually the fifth option from the top. Enable this setting to allow you to recall emails that have been sent out by mistake.
- You may also change the number of seconds you are allowed to choose to recall that message. We recommend using the maximum setting of 30 seconds so that you can do a glance over your email before it is sent out. Other options include 5, 10 and 20 seconds.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page. Hit the Save changes button. Always remember this step or the changes to your settings will not be enabled when you use Gmail. Allow your Gmail page to refresh.
After you have changed your settings, it is time to send a test email to ensure the setting is working.
- Compose an email to a close friend, or an alternate email account if you have one.
- Type in a simple greeting, then send out the email by pressing on the blue box with the word Send.
- After your email is sent out, a black pop-up box will appear on the bottom left of your screen. It will inform you that your email is sent by stating ‘Message sent’. Next to this message, there is an option called Undo. This word is highlighted in blue.
- Select this option to recall the email you have just sent out. The amount of time you have to recall the message will correspond to the settings you have set beforehand.
- The email will not be delivered to the inbox of the recipient. The email will be saved as a draft instead. You can check with your friends or in your inbox to confirm this.
- To edit the email, go to drafts. Then click on the email to work on it.
While this option means it there is a delay of 30 seconds maximum before the recipient will receive their emails, this option is a valuable one as it is better to hand in a stellar piece of work a few seconds late rather than one filled with mistakes.