How to delete Uber account

Uber is perhaps one of the most successful start-ups in the world and in manage to win the loyalty of many customers worldwide. Dissatisfaction with the services of Uber is hardly believable but some people may not be satisfied with the service. Many reasons could have compelled some users to take this action such as an inconsistent surge in pricing, unexplained elimination of surges, privacy policy, driver mistreatment, and even the infamous controversy regarding the investment of Uber. If you want to delete the app, keep reading because we are going to show you how to do just that.

Deleting the app will only eliminate your choice to use Uber as a ride service but your account remains active in the company’s server. It is possible to completely delete your account and it requires you to follow a procedure. You have to submit a request on the official website of Uber or directly from your App.

See also: How to delete user accounts in Windows 10

Using the Uber app

First, you need to open the Uber App on your smartphone and tap the three-lines hamburger button or Collapsed Menu icon on the top-left side of the app’s Graphical User Interface (GUI). Secondly, tap on ‘Settings’ to open up Account Settings. Then you have to scroll down and tap ‘Privacy Settings’ which will take you to the next screen that has ‘Delete Your Account’ option. It can be located at the bottom of the screen in red lettering.

After choosing the option to delete your account you’ll be asked by Uber to specify the reason for deleting your account and perhaps try one last time to stop you from leaving. The App presents the following options; ‘Bad experience on a ride’, ‘It’s too expensive’, ‘Issue with my account’, ‘No longer support company’, ‘Prefer not to say’, and ‘other’. You can choose the relevant option or tap ‘Other’ to state a different reason. Once you select the reason, tap Continue.

After you have submitted the request, a prominent ‘Account Deleted’ message will pop up. However, Uber lets you know that they have only deactivated your account which will take 30 days to delete permanently. During these 30 days, you can reactivate your account just by logging in.

Using the official Uber website

A relatively easier process on the website follows the same 30-day deactivation policy. Uber notifies you about the status of your account through email until the confirmation that the account has been deleted. If you’re using a PC, open a browser and go to the Uber official website. After logging into your account, find and click the ‘Help’ option on top of the window. You will see a lot of options that take you to specific directions. Under ‘Account and Payment Options’ click ‘Change my account settings’. Among a lot of options, scroll down and select ‘Delete my Uber account. On the next confirmation page again click ‘DELETE MY UBER ACCOUNT’ to move onto the last page.

In the end, Uber asks whether you’re sure about deleting your account and share some details about your choice. Proceed to fill both the fields as you like and click ‘SUBMIT’ at the bottom of the page. According to Uber’s privacy policy, it can still retain certain information.

Total
0
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts on How to delete Uber account