How to delete servers on Discord

Servers on Discord are great ways to connect people, chat, do video calls, live streams, and more. There are a bunch of ways you can find servers—both in and out of Discord—as well as create them yourself. But if you’re someone who’s looking to delete a server, the following present a couple of ways on how to delete servers on Discord. There is also a temporary solution in case you’re not quite looking to delete it—in which case you can pass on the ownership to someone else.

See also: How to enable direct messages on Discord

What happens when you delete a server?

The first thing to know before you go ahead is that you need to be the moderator of the channel (the person who created it) in order to delete the server. Any permission to edit the channel will not cut it, unfortunately.

Lastly, the decision to delete a server is final. It cannot be undone, nor is there a way to retrieve a deleted server. So it is essential that you are absolutely sure of your decision. Remember that there is also an alternative method if you’re not ready for the real deal: you can transfer ownership of the server to someone else.

How to delete a server on Android or iPhone

To delete a server on an Android device or an iPhone, follow these steps:

  1. First, open the Discord app on your device. Log in with the appropriate information.
  2. Next, click on the server name. This will be found on the left sidebar on the Discord homepage.
  3. From the drop-down menu, select “Server Settings”.
  4. In the column on the left, scroll down all the way to the bottom and click “Delete Server”.
  5. A confirmation box will pop up. In the text field, type in the name of the server exactly as it appears on Discord. Then click “Delete Server”.

How to delete a server on PC or Mac

To delete a server on a Mac or PC, follow these steps. If you have two-factor authentication enabled, make sure you have your phone nearby as you will need it.

  1. First, open the Discord app on the Mac or PC. You may also use the web app to do this. Log in with the appropriate information.
  2. Next, right-click on the server name. This will be found on the left sidebar on the Discord homepage.
  3. From the drop-down menu, select “Server Settings”.
  4. In the menu on the left, scroll down all the way to the bottom and click “Delete Server”.
  5. A confirmation box will pop up. In the text field, type in the name of the server exactly as it appears on Discord. If you have two-factor enabled, enter the six-digit code sent to your device. Then click “Delete Server”.

How to transfer ownership of a server

If you’re looking for a more temporary solution, we’ve got you covered! You can turn over the ownership of the server to a user on the server you trust. Follow these instructions to get started:

  1. First, open the Discord app on your device. Log in with the appropriate information.
  2. Next, click (right-click on a desktop device) on the server name. This will be found on the left sidebar on the Discord homepage.
  3. From the drop-down menu, select “Server Settings”.
  4. Here, select “Members” on the left column.
  5. From the list, hover of the Discord tag of the person you want to give ownership to. Click the ellipsis icon (three dots) at the right.
  6. From the drop-down menu, select “Transfer Ownership”.

And that’s it! The method is pretty simple, but it is an important decision to make as you cannot reverse your decision to delete a server.

Total
0
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *