Now Facebook tracks when you a copy a link, even if the app is closed. Actually, a new feature of Apple’s new OS for the iPhone is tracking whatever the users are copying and paste. Facebook app for iOS is taking advantage of this feature and suggesting that they copy whenever a user shares a URL.
So, if you accidentally post a private link, the data hungry Facebook will track your activity even when it is not running in the background. This feature was rolled out on October 7 during the Facebook’s latest mobile update though it is not available for all devices.
Daniel Harrison, a spokesperson of Facebook said that this feature is currently in the testing phase and is available to a very few people who use Facebook for iPhone. He also mentioned that copying a link by Facebook is not troubling the users.
Apple’s OS for iPhone allows the Facebook app to access the clipboard where all the copied texts get stored. Facebook’s new feature pulls out this copied text from the clipboard into the users’ browser.
Harrison also said that Facebook is not able to see the links, it only copies the standard URL format, and the users’ information also not get saved by Facebook after it has been deleted from the clipboard. It does not copy the data that looks different than URL like passwords or emails.
Facebook will not do any malicious with the content for sure but accessing the content without the users’ permission is little unacceptable.
Source – The Daily Beast
Get more stuff like this
in your inbox
Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting products and updates to your email inbox.
Thank you for subscribing.
Something went wrong.