Was wird die NASA tun, wenn ein Astronaut im Weltraum stirbt? VIDEO

Geschrieben von Alexander Puru

Weltraummissionen waren immer mit einem sehr hohen Risiko verbunden, sogar Neil Armstrong und die anderen Astronauten auf Apollo waren bereit, auf dem Weg zum Mond zu sterben.

Eine Mission zum Mars würde mehrere Monate dauern, um dorthin zu gelangen. Astronauten verbringen nur sechs Monate auf der Internationalen Raumstation, wo sie sorgfältig untersucht werden. Dort ist noch nie jemand gestorben, und jetzt konzentriert sich die NASA mehr auf angemessene Reaktionen in Bezug auf dieses Risiko.

In einer kürzlich erschienenen StarTalk Radio-Episode fragte Co-Moderator Chuck Nice den Astronauten Mike Massimino, ob die NASA ein Protokoll habe, um einen Astronauten zurückzubringen, der im Weltraum stirbt. Obwohl es kein spezifisches Ritual gibt, üben die Astronauten extreme Szenarien.

In seinem Buch, Leitfaden für das Leben auf der Erde ein AstronautChris Hadfield erklärt eine Übung namens „Todessimulation“, die Astronauten darauf vorbereiten soll, im Falle des Todes eines ihrer Kollegen zu reagieren. Die NASA hat bereits Pläne für komplexe und langfristige Missionen zum Mars und private Unternehmen wie SpaceX und Mars One planen, Kolonien auf dem roten Planeten zu errichten. Wie bereits erwähnt, sind die Risiken offensichtlich enorm.

Anscheinend wäre die einfachste Lösung, den Körper im Weltraum freizulassen, aber Gesetze verbieten dies. Andererseits ist es keine gute Idee, die Leiche an Bord zu halten, da die psychische Gesundheit der Besatzung gefährdet wäre. Die NASA fand eine Zwischenidee. Durch eine Zusammenarbeit mit Promessa wurde die Body Back-Idee geboren. Bei Body Back handelt es sich um einen luftdichten Schlafsack, in den eine menschliche Leiche hineingezogen und dann den Gefriertemperaturen des Weltraums ausgesetzt wird, um sich allmählich aufzulösen.

Der Tod ist ein heikles Thema, aber für eine langfristige Raumfahrt muss er als Kosten- und Praktikabilitätsproblem behandelt werden. Das obige Video mit dem poetischen Titel „Wenn ich auf dem Mars sterbe“ zeigt, dass eine geeignete Methode zur Reaktion auf den Tod im Weltraum noch nicht gefunden wurde.

Technobezz

What Will NASA Do If An Astronaut Dies in Space? VIDEO

Space missions have always involved a very high risk, even Neil Armstrong and the other astronauts on Apollo were ready to die on the way to the moon.

A mission to Mars would require several months just to get there. Astronauts spend only six months at the International Space Station, where they are carefully examined. No one ever died there, and now NASA is being more focused on appropriate responses in relation to this risk.

In a recent StarTalk Radio episode, co-host Chuck Nice asked astronaut Mike Massimino whether NASA had some kind of protocol for bringing back an astronaut who dies in space. Although there is no specific ritual, the astronauts do practice extreme scenarios.

In his book, Guide for life on Earth an astronaut, Chris Hadfield explains an exercise named “death sim,” created to prepare astronauts to react in the event of the death of one of their colleagues. NASA already got plans for complex and long-term missions to Mars and private companies like SpaceX and Mars One plan to set up colonies on the red planet. Obviously, as stated before, the risks are huge.

Apparently, the simplest solution would be to release the body in space, but laws prohibit this. On the other hand, is not a good idea to keep the dead body on board, because the mental health of the crew would be endangered. NASA found an intermediate idea. Through a collaboration with Promessa, the Body Back idea was born. Body Back involves an airtight sleeping bag that a human corpse is zipped into and then exposed to the freezing temperatures of outer space to gradually disintegrate.

Death is a touchy subject, but for long-term spaceflight, it has to be treated as a cost issue and a practicality issue. The video above, poetically titled “If I die on Mars” shows that a suitable method of reacting to the death in space is yet to be found.

More on this topic

Leave a Reply

Stable Apple Watch OS 5.1.3 and iOS 12.1.3 for HomePod, iPad and iPhone Officially Roll Out
Moto Z3 verizon
Motorola Moto Z3 Users on Verizon Get Moto Mod Support Along with Android Pie Update
iPhone drain
iPhone Battery Draining: Confirm Solutions by Apple
Apple iphone 2020
Apple May Say Good-bye to the LCD Displays on iPhones by 2020
Android Apple Gaming How To Internet iPhone Personal Computers Review Site review The Top Best
Samsung Galaxy S8 keeps rebooting randomly
Samsung Galaxy S8 Restarting Randomly – How to Fix It

Many of our readers are reporting a problem with their brand...

Best Lite Android apps to save storage space
Best Lite Android Apps To Save Storage Space

Is your favorite app eating away your data, draining your phone’s...

How To Fix Samsung Galaxy S8 Overheating Issues

Overheating is an issue that affects most devices and Samsung Galaxy...