Que fera la NASA si un astronaute meurt dans l'espace? VIDÉO


Les missions spatiales ont toujours impliqué un risque très élevé, même Neil Armstrong et les autres astronautes d'Apollo étaient prêts à mourir sur le chemin de la Lune.

Une mission sur Mars nécessiterait plusieurs mois pour y arriver. Les astronautes ne passent que six mois à la Station spatiale internationale, où ils sont soigneusement examinés. Personne n'est jamais mort là-bas, et maintenant la NASA se concentre davantage sur des réponses appropriées par rapport à ce risque.

Dans un récent épisode de StarTalk Radio, le co-animateur Chuck Nice a demandé à l'astronaute Mike Massimino si la NASA avait une sorte de protocole pour ramener un astronaute qui meurt dans l'espace. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de rituel spécifique, les astronautes pratiquent des scénarios extrêmes.

Dans son livre, Guide pour la vie sur Terre un astronaute, Chris Hadfield explique un exercice nommé «death sim», créé pour préparer les astronautes à réagir en cas de décès d'un de leurs collègues. La NASA a déjà des plans pour des missions complexes et à long terme sur Mars et des entreprises privées comme SpaceX et Mars One prévoient d'installer des colonies sur la planète rouge. De toute évidence, comme indiqué précédemment, les risques sont énormes.

Apparemment, la solution la plus simple serait de libérer le corps dans l'espace, mais les lois l'interdisent. En revanche, ce n'est pas une bonne idée de garder le cadavre à bord, car la santé mentale de l'équipage serait en danger. La NASA a trouvé une idée intermédiaire. Grâce à une collaboration avec Promessa, l'idée Body Back est née. Body Back implique un sac de couchage hermétique dans lequel un cadavre humain est zippé puis exposé aux températures glaciales de l'espace pour se désintégrer progressivement.

La mort est un sujet délicat, mais pour les vols spatiaux à long terme, elle doit être traitée comme un problème de coût et un problème de praticité. La vidéo ci-dessus, intitulée poétiquement «Si je meurs sur Mars», montre qu'une méthode appropriée pour réagir à la mort dans l'espace reste à trouver.

Technobezz

What Will NASA Do If An Astronaut Dies in Space? VIDEO

Space missions have always involved a very high risk, even Neil Armstrong and the other astronauts on Apollo were ready to die on the way to the moon.

A mission to Mars would require several months just to get there. Astronauts spend only six months at the International Space Station, where they are carefully examined. No one ever died there, and now NASA is being more focused on appropriate responses in relation to this risk.

In a recent StarTalk Radio episode, co-host Chuck Nice asked astronaut Mike Massimino whether NASA had some kind of protocol for bringing back an astronaut who dies in space. Although there is no specific ritual, the astronauts do practice extreme scenarios.

In his book, Guide for life on Earth an astronaut, Chris Hadfield explains an exercise named “death sim,” created to prepare astronauts to react in the event of the death of one of their colleagues. NASA already got plans for complex and long-term missions to Mars and private companies like SpaceX and Mars One plan to set up colonies on the red planet. Obviously, as stated before, the risks are huge.

Apparently, the simplest solution would be to release the body in space, but laws prohibit this. On the other hand, is not a good idea to keep the dead body on board, because the mental health of the crew would be endangered. NASA found an intermediate idea. Through a collaboration with Promessa, the Body Back idea was born. Body Back involves an airtight sleeping bag that a human corpse is zipped into and then exposed to the freezing temperatures of outer space to gradually disintegrate.

Death is a touchy subject, but for long-term spaceflight, it has to be treated as a cost issue and a practicality issue. The video above, poetically titled “If I die on Mars” shows that a suitable method of reacting to the death in space is yet to be found.

More on this topic

Leave a Reply

Here are some of the best gaming monitors under $150
Oneplus 7T
OnePlus 7T series full specifications confirmed 10 days before launch
Borderlands 3
Borderlands 3: News, Rumors and Release Date
The Sims 4
Sims 4 fifth anniversary update has changed the game with these new additions
Android Apple Gaming How To Internet iPhone Personal Computers Review Site review The Top Best
Here are some of the best gaming monitors under $150

Most online shoppers are on the lookout for monitors that offer...

How To Compress 4K To 1080P With WinX HD Video Converter Deluxe [Review And Giveaway]

Nowadays, you don’t need a sophisticated DSLR camera to shoot a...

Borderlands 3
Borderlands 3: News, Rumors and Release Date

The rumors about the release of Borderlands 3 have been around...