Users who have owned Galaxy s5 & s6, weigh in on the difference

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy' started by srock, Jul 14, 2015.

1. srock

srock New Member

I currently have the Samsung Galaxy 5 and I have heard that the 6 is not an improvement on the 5 in some ways. Can anyone who has owned and used both please weigh in?

2. Loading...

3. FuZyOn

FuZyOn Recognized Member
    Recognized Member

The S6 is probably the best phone out there that money can buy but I don't think the difference between the S5 and the S6 is that big. If you like your phone then I suggest you keep it for another year or two. You won't see big improvements.

4. srock

srock New Member

Thank you, FuzZyon. Did you own the s5 previously? I am curious from the user's perspective how the subtle differences manifest.

5. FuZyOn

FuZyOn Recognized Member
    Recognized Member

I play with phones all day so I have a lot of experience :p. The S5 is a pretty good phone and it's powerful enough to handle everything you throw at it nowadays. I really like that the S5 still keeps some good features (micro SD slot, removable battery and waterproof certification).
    From the user's perspective the differences are little to non-existant. The 5.0 version on the S6 feels a little bit faster than the S5's but if you're going to put a custom ROM on it there will be no difference.
    I'd stick with your current phone for now. If you're looking for an upgrade then keep an eye out for the Nexus line this year.

6. teamxxlp

teamxxlp Active Member
    Staff Member Senior Member