Microsoft bringt die Idee der holographischen Videoanrufe ins 21. Jahrhundert

Geschrieben von Alexander Puru

In den letzten Jahren hat die Qualität von Videoanrufen auf mobilen und Desktop-Plattformen erheblich zugenommen. Dieser Trend wurde gesetzt, weil billige Kameras und eine hohe Geschwindigkeit der Internetverbindung immer schneller wurden. Selbst unter diesen Umständen sind die in Star Wars reproduzierten Erfahrungen mit holographischen Videoanrufen immer noch ein Traum.

Glücklicherweise unternimmt Microsoft Research, eine Abteilung für spezielle Projekte des amerikanischen Unternehmens, kleine Schritte, um die SF-Video-Chat-Erlebnisse bequem von zu Hause aus umzusetzen. Das Projekt heißt Room2Room und wurde erstmals von vorgestellt MIT Technology Review. Grundsätzlich ist dieses innovative Projekt von Room Alive inspiriert, einem weiteren futuristischen Projekt der Microsoft-Abteilung.

Das System dahinter ist nicht sehr komplex, aber es wird lange dauern, bis es in eine kommerzielle Lösung integriert ist. Grundsätzlich scannt eine intelligente Kamera den Raum, um Personen zu finden, und überträgt mithilfe eines Projektors den Videostream mit den in der anderen Ecke der Welt identifizierten Personen. Am Ende wird der Vorgang gleichzeitig in zwei Richtungen ausgeführt. Obwohl noch viel Politur erforderlich ist, ist es wichtig, dass Sie mit einem Freund in Originalgröße vor Ihnen sprechen, auch wenn dieser in 2D reproduziert wird.

Microsoft-Forschungsraum2Room-518x245

Jetzt, da Sie die Idee haben, mit wenig Aufwand und einer erheblichen Investition, ist es möglich, dass Sie eines Tages dieses Produkt in der einen oder anderen Form kaufen werden. Die Mitarbeiter von Microsoft Research gaben an, dass es noch einige Jahre dauert, bis das holographische Videoanrufsystem die Geschäfte erreicht.

Technobezz

Microsoft Brings The Holographic Video Calls Idea To The 21st Century

In recent years, the quality of video calls on both mobile and desktop platforms has increased significantly. This trend was set because of  cheap cameras and high-quality Internet connection speed becoming faster and faster. Even in these circumstances,  the holographic video calls experiences reproduced in Star Wars are still a dream.

Fortunately, Microsoft Research, a department for special projects of the American company, is doing small steps in implementation the SF video chat experiences in the comfort of our homes. The project is named Room2Room and it was first presented by MIT Technology Review. Basically, this innovative project is inspired from Room Alive, another futuristic project of Microsoft’s division.

The system behind it is not very complex, but it will take a long time to be integrated into a commercial solution. Basically, a smart camera scans the room to find people and using a projector it transmit the video stream with those identified in the other corner of the world, in the end, the process being carried out simultaneously in two directions. Although it still needs a lot of polish to be done, the important part is that you talk to a friend in real size in front of you, even if it is reproduced in 2D.

Microsoft-Research-Room2Room-518x245

Now that you have the idea, with little effort and a significant investment, it’s possible that one day you will purchase this product in one form or another. The people at Microsoft Research said there is still a matter of several years until the holographic video calls system will reach the stores.

More on this topic

Leave a Reply

Exciting Deals on New 15.6-inch Branded Laptops Priced at Just around $400
Galaxy Note 10
Is Samsung Going to Merge the Galaxy S and Note Smartphone Lineups?
HP and CYBERPWERPC Desktops Available at Slashed Prices
High-End Monitors Going at Great Deal Prices
Android Apple Gaming How To Internet iPhone Personal Computers Review Site review The Top Best
Want to buy a new tablet? Here is our pick of the best Android tablets

Are you looking for the best Android tablet? In today’s mobile...

Philo TV
All the Things You Need to Know About Philo

There is no denying the fact that live streaming television services...

Here are some of the best gaming monitors under $150

Most online shoppers are on the lookout for monitors that offer...