Microsoft apporte l'idée d'appels vidéo holographiques au 21e siècle


Ces dernières années, la qualité des appels vidéo sur les plates-formes mobiles et de bureau s'est considérablement améliorée. Cette tendance a été établie parce que les caméras bon marché et la vitesse de connexion Internet de haute qualité devenaient de plus en plus rapides. Même dans ces circonstances, les expériences d'appels vidéo holographiques reproduites dans Star Wars sont toujours un rêve.

Heureusement, Microsoft Research, un département pour les projets spéciaux de la société américaine, fait de petites étapes dans la mise en œuvre des expériences de chat vidéo SF dans le confort de nos maisons. Le projet s'appelle Room2Room et il a été présenté pour la première fois par MIT Technology Review. Fondamentalement, ce projet innovant est inspiré de Room Alive, un autre projet futuriste de la division Microsoft.

Le système sous-jacent n'est pas très complexe, mais il faudra beaucoup de temps pour s'intégrer dans une solution commerciale. Fondamentalement, une caméra intelligente scanne la pièce pour trouver des personnes et à l'aide d'un projecteur, elle transmet le flux vidéo avec ceux identifiés dans l'autre coin du monde, au final, le processus étant effectué simultanément dans deux directions. Bien que cela nécessite encore beaucoup de peaufinage, l'important est que vous parliez à un ami en taille réelle devant vous, même s'il est reproduit en 2D.

Microsoft-Recherche-Room2Room-518x245

Maintenant que vous avez l'idée, avec peu d'efforts et un investissement important, il est possible qu'un jour vous achetiez ce produit sous une forme ou une autre. Les gens de Microsoft Research ont déclaré qu'il restait encore plusieurs années avant que le système d'appels vidéo holographique n'atteigne les magasins.

Technobezz

Microsoft Brings The Holographic Video Calls Idea To The 21st Century

In recent years, the quality of video calls on both mobile and desktop platforms has increased significantly. This trend was set because of  cheap cameras and high-quality Internet connection speed becoming faster and faster. Even in these circumstances,  the holographic video calls experiences reproduced in Star Wars are still a dream.

Fortunately, Microsoft Research, a department for special projects of the American company, is doing small steps in implementation the SF video chat experiences in the comfort of our homes. The project is named Room2Room and it was first presented by MIT Technology Review. Basically, this innovative project is inspired from Room Alive, another futuristic project of Microsoft’s division.

The system behind it is not very complex, but it will take a long time to be integrated into a commercial solution. Basically, a smart camera scans the room to find people and using a projector it transmit the video stream with those identified in the other corner of the world, in the end, the process being carried out simultaneously in two directions. Although it still needs a lot of polish to be done, the important part is that you talk to a friend in real size in front of you, even if it is reproduced in 2D.

Microsoft-Research-Room2Room-518x245

Now that you have the idea, with little effort and a significant investment, it’s possible that one day you will purchase this product in one form or another. The people at Microsoft Research said there is still a matter of several years until the holographic video calls system will reach the stores.

More on this topic

Leave a Reply

Pixel 3 price drop
Google Slashes the price of Pixel 3 and Pixel 3XL Ahead of Amazon Prize Day
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 Will Get Rid of Headphone Jack, Earpiece and the SD Card Slot 
The Sims 4
Sharks and Mermaids aren’t the only Fascinating Additions To The Sims 4: Island Living
GTA 6
Rockstar Games Might Release GTA 6 Sooner Than Expected
Android Apple Gaming How To Internet iPhone Personal Computers Review Site review The Top Best
remove Google search bar
How to remove Google search bar on Android

Google Search Bar at the home screen can be irritating and...

How to recover deleted text messages on Android

Many times we accidentally lose all of our crucial messages due...

Battery calibration on Android
Battery calibration on Android: How to do it?

Battery Stats is one of the most important features provided in...