Kommt nächste Woche ein iOS 10.3.3 Jailbreak?

Geschrieben von Elizabeth Kartini

Kommt nächste Woche ein iOS 10.3.3 Jailbreak?

Ein Tweet eines Google Project Zero-Teammitglieds hat die Aufmerksamkeit einiger Jailbreaker auf sich gezogen, die glaubten, dass der Tweet über ein neues Jailbreaking-Tool sprach.

Leider war der Tweet ein Tool für iOS-Forscher - nicht für Jailbreaker.

Der Tweet wurde von Twitter-Nutzer Ben Hawkes gepostet, der Mitglied von Googles Project Zero ist und zahlreiche Fehler in Microsoft Office, Adobe Flash Player und anderen Programmen entdeckt hat.

In seinem Tweet wies Hawkes darauf hin, dass iOS 10.3.3 eine Sicherheitsanfälligkeit mit dem Codenamen CVE-2017-7047 behebt. Diese Sicherheitsanfälligkeit führt zu einem Speicherbeschädigungsproblem, das es einer Anwendung ermöglicht, "beliebigen Code mit Systemberechtigungen auszuführen". CVE-2017-7047, das von Ian Beer von Google Project Zero entdeckt wurde, betrifft den iPod Touch der sechsten Generation, das iPad der vierten Generation und spätere Modelle sowie das iPhone 5 und spätere Modelle.

Laut Hawkes sollten diejenigen, die an einer Userspace-Recherche unter iOS interessiert sind, iOS 10.3.3 meiden und auf iOS 10.3.2 und darunter bleiben. Er fügte hinzu, dass es nächste Woche eine „Tool-Veröffentlichung“ geben werde.

Der letzte Teil von Hawkes 'Tweet hat mehrere Leute zu der Annahme veranlasst, dass nächste Woche ein Jailbreaking-Tool für iOS-Geräte eingeführt wird. Dies ist jedoch nicht wirklich der Fall, da das Tool eigentlich für iOS-Forscher gedacht ist, die sich auf Schwachstellen im Benutzerbereich konzentrieren.

Ein Redditor mit dem Benutzernamen BSDIsShit hat darauf hingewiesen, dass CVE-2017-7047 nicht für Jailbreaking verwendet werden kann, da es sich um eine Benutzerbereichsanfälligkeit handelt. Die meisten funktionalen Jailbreaks basieren auf Kernel-Schwachstellen, die es Jailbreaking-Teams ermöglichen, tatsächliche Änderungen an iOS-Geräten vorzunehmen.

Wie BSDIsShit feststellt, ist jedoch nicht jede Hoffnung verloren, da in iOS 10.3.2 mehrere Kernel-Schwachstellen vorhanden sind. Dies sind CVE-2017-7009, CVE-2017-7023, CVE-2017-7025, CVE-2017-7027 und CVE-2017-7069. Alle verursachen Speicherbeschädigungsprobleme und betreffen dieselben Geräte wie CVE-2017-7047.

Drücken wir die Daumen und hoffen, dass ein Jailbreaking-Team diese Kernel-Schwachstellen nutzt, um eine zu erstellen Jailbreak für iOS 10.3.2 und / oder frühere Versionen!

Holen Sie sich mehr solche Sachen
in deinem Posteingang

Abonnieren Sie unsere Mailingliste und erhalten Sie interessante Produkte und Updates für Ihren E-Mail-Posteingang.

Danke fürs Abonnieren.

Etwas ist schief gelaufen.

Technobezz

Is an iOS 10.3.3 Jailbreak Coming Next Week?

A tweet from a Google Project Zero team member has caught the attention of some jailbreakers, who believed that the tweet was talking about a new jailbreaking tool.

Unfortunately, the tweet was referring tool for iOS researchers — not for jailbreakers.

The tweet was posted by Twitter user Ben Hawkes, who is a member of Google’s Project Zero and has been credited with discovering numerous bugs on Microsoft Office, Adobe Flash Player, and other programs.

In his tweet, Hawkes pointed out that iOS 10.3.3 patches a vulnerability codenamed CVE-2017-7047. This vulnerability causes a memory corruption issue that allows an application to “execute arbitrary code with system privileges”. CVE-2017-7047, which was discovered by Google Project Zero’s Ian Beer, affects the sixth-gen iPod Touch, fourth-gen iPad and later models, and iPhone 5 and later models.

According to Hawkes, those who are interested in doing userspace research on iOS should avoid iOS 10.3.3 and stay on iOS 10.3.2 and below. He also added that there would be a “tool release next week”.

The latter part of Hawkes’s tweet has caused several people to think that a jailbreaking tool for iOS devices will be rolled out next week. However, this isn’t really the case since the tool is actually for iOS researchers who are focusing on userspace vulnerabilities.

One Redditor with the username BSDIsShit has pointed out that CVE-2017-7047 cannot be used for jailbreaking since it’s a userspace vulnerability. Most functional jailbreaks rely on kernel vulnerabilities, which allow jailbreaking teams to make actual changes on iOS devices.

However, as BSDIsShit notes, all hope is not lost since several kernel vulnerabilities exist in iOS 10.3.2. These are CVE-2017-7009, CVE-2017-7023, CVE-2017-7025, CVE-2017-7027, and CVE-2017-7069. All of them cause memory corruption issues and affect the same devices as CVE-2017-7047.

Let’s cross our fingers and hope that a jailbreaking team is using these kernel vulnerabilities to create a jailbreak for iOS 10.3.2 and/or earlier versions!

More on this topic

Best coffee makers under $100 in 2020

Looking for the best coffee makers under $100 could be a fun shopping experience for many. There are so many amazing coffee makers within this price point and for the

Best Android Armbands to buy in 2020

An Android smartphone is one of the handiest devices in the world today. However, be it an Android or an iPhone, the troubles of carrying the phone as you are

Best Electric Tea Kettles in 2020

The best electric tea kettles offer a quick and easy way of heating water without a stove or microwave. Some of them also feature temperature settings for making flavored tea

Best spiralizers to buy in 2020

The average household kitchen is a fun-filled adventure zone where you can explore and experiment. Whether you love cooking or not doesn’t matter because the best spiralizers can capture your

Top Best Coffee Makers in 2020

The best coffee makers available in the market today do much more than just brew a hot cup of coffee. There are some devices that grind beans while others froth

Leave a Reply