Advertisment

Un jailbreak iOS 10.3.3 arrive-t-il la semaine prochaine?


Un jailbreak iOS 10.3.3 arrive-t-il la semaine prochaine?

Un tweet d'un membre de l'équipe Google Project Zero a attiré l'attention de certains jailbreakers, qui pensaient que le tweet parlait d'un nouvel outil de jailbreak.

Malheureusement, le tweet faisait référence à un outil pour les chercheurs iOS - pas pour les jailbreakers.

Le tweet a été publié par l'utilisateur de Twitter Ben Hawkes, qui est membre du Project Zero de Google et a été crédité de la découverte de nombreux bogues sur Microsoft Office, Adobe Flash Player et d'autres programmes.

Dans son tweet, Hawkes a souligné qu'iOS 10.3.3 corrige une vulnérabilité nommée CVE-2017-7047. Cette vulnérabilité provoque un problème de corruption de la mémoire qui permet à une application «d'exécuter du code arbitraire avec des privilèges système». CVE-2017-7047, qui a été découvert par Ian Beer de Google Project Zero, affecte l'iPod Touch de sixième génération, l'iPad de quatrième génération et les modèles ultérieurs, et l'iPhone 5 et les modèles ultérieurs.

Selon Hawkes, ceux qui souhaitent faire des recherches sur l'espace utilisateur sur iOS devraient éviter iOS 10.3.3 et rester sur iOS 10.3.2 et versions antérieures. Il a également ajouté qu'il y aurait une «sortie d'outil la semaine prochaine».

La dernière partie du tweet de Hawkes a amené plusieurs personnes à penser qu'un outil de jailbreak pour les appareils iOS sera déployé la semaine prochaine. Cependant, ce n'est pas vraiment le cas puisque l'outil est en fait destiné aux chercheurs iOS qui se concentrent sur les vulnérabilités de l'espace utilisateur.

Un Redditor avec le nom d'utilisateur BSDIsShit a souligné que CVE-2017-7047 ne peut pas être utilisé pour le jailbreak car il s'agit d'une vulnérabilité de l'espace utilisateur. La plupart des jailbreaks fonctionnels reposent sur des vulnérabilités du noyau, qui permettent aux équipes de jailbreaking d'apporter des modifications réelles sur les appareils iOS.

Cependant, comme le note BSDIsShit, tout espoir n'est pas perdu car plusieurs vulnérabilités du noyau existent dans iOS 10.3.2. Il s'agit de CVE-2017-7009, CVE-2017-7023, CVE-2017-7025, CVE-2017-7027 et CVE-2017-7069. Tous provoquent des problèmes de corruption de la mémoire et affectent les mêmes périphériques que CVE-2017-7047.

Croisons les doigts et espérons qu'une équipe de jailbreak utilise ces vulnérabilités du noyau pour créer un jailbreak pour iOS 10.3.2 et / ou versions antérieures!

Advertisment

Advertisment

Obtenez plus de trucs comme ça
dans votre boîte de réception

Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion et recevez des produits intéressants et des mises à jour dans votre boîte de réception.

Merci de vous être abonné.

Quelque chose a mal tourné.

Advertisment

Technobezz

Is an iOS 10.3.3 Jailbreak Coming Next Week?

A tweet from a Google Project Zero team member has caught the attention of some jailbreakers, who believed that the tweet was talking about a new jailbreaking tool.

Unfortunately, the tweet was referring tool for iOS researchers — not for jailbreakers.

The tweet was posted by Twitter user Ben Hawkes, who is a member of Google’s Project Zero and has been credited with discovering numerous bugs on Microsoft Office, Adobe Flash Player, and other programs.

In his tweet, Hawkes pointed out that iOS 10.3.3 patches a vulnerability codenamed CVE-2017-7047. This vulnerability causes a memory corruption issue that allows an application to “execute arbitrary code with system privileges”. CVE-2017-7047, which was discovered by Google Project Zero’s Ian Beer, affects the sixth-gen iPod Touch, fourth-gen iPad and later models, and iPhone 5 and later models.

According to Hawkes, those who are interested in doing userspace research on iOS should avoid iOS 10.3.3 and stay on iOS 10.3.2 and below. He also added that there would be a “tool release next week”.

The latter part of Hawkes’s tweet has caused several people to think that a jailbreaking tool for iOS devices will be rolled out next week. However, this isn’t really the case since the tool is actually for iOS researchers who are focusing on userspace vulnerabilities.

One Redditor with the username BSDIsShit has pointed out that CVE-2017-7047 cannot be used for jailbreaking since it’s a userspace vulnerability. Most functional jailbreaks rely on kernel vulnerabilities, which allow jailbreaking teams to make actual changes on iOS devices.

However, as BSDIsShit notes, all hope is not lost since several kernel vulnerabilities exist in iOS 10.3.2. These are CVE-2017-7009, CVE-2017-7023, CVE-2017-7025, CVE-2017-7027, and CVE-2017-7069. All of them cause memory corruption issues and affect the same devices as CVE-2017-7047.

Let’s cross our fingers and hope that a jailbreaking team is using these kernel vulnerabilities to create a jailbreak for iOS 10.3.2 and/or earlier versions!

More on this topic

Leave a Reply

iphone 2020
iPhone 2019 May Not Come with the ToF sensors; Delayed to 2020
Samsung Galaxy Note 10
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 and 10+: New Battery Charging Features Revealed
The Sims 4
The New Menu of The Sims 4 Might Be Pushing the Non-existent DLC
GTA Online
Rockstar Games Might Release the GTA Online Casino DLC Next Week
Android Apple Gaming How To Internet iPhone Personal Computers Review Site review The Top Best
Most viewed YouTube videos
Most viewed YouTube videos

YouTube has billions of videos available and you can watch all...

Top Best FPS Games For iPhone

FPS means the first-person shooter. This is a type of game...

Top Best Offline iOS Games

Do you play games only for fun or you need a...