Instagram now notifies the users when you take a screenshot of their disappearing photos they sent in direct messages.
It’s been a couple of days since Instagram introduced two new features, live video and disappearing messages. From that moment, the main topic is the fact that Instagram will notify the user who sent you a disappearing photo in direct messages in case you take a screenshot of it. Many people are wondering will Instagram also notify the user if you screenshot their normal photos? The answer is no.
So, in case you like to snoop around and take a screenshot of your crush’s photos every now and then, don’t worry – they won’t be notified.
When you launch the app, tap on Your Story, take a photo and tap the arrow. You will see the option Send direct. Choose a person, and tap Send. If your Instagram buddy sees the message and decides to take a screenshot of it, you will be notified.
This only applies to disappearing photos. In other words, if you want to take a screenshot of someone’s “normal” photo, they won’t be notified.
Also, you will receive a notification if your friend replies to your message.
This is similar to Snapchat’s feature. If you save a snap, the sender will get a notification that you took a screenshot.
Many people who just catching up on this freaked out. All this started a rumor on social media that Instagram now comes with a new feature that notifies the users when you screenshot their public photos. Don’t worry – this isn’t true.
“Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.”, says Instagram in a blog post.
As you can see, there is no need to panic, and no, Instagram won’t notify the users when you screenshot their normal photos. You can continue snooping around, your crush won’t know a thing!