Comment les illusions d'optique jouent-elles avec notre esprit


Nous aimons les illusions d'optique depuis des milliers d'années. Les Romains fabriquaient des mosaïques 3D pour décorer leurs maisons, les Grecs ont manipulé des perspectives pour créer des panthéons impressionnants, et, au moins, une sculpture paléolithique ressemblera à deux animaux en même temps si vous regardez de près.

Georg Rüschemeyer explore la science derrière ces effets, au moins bizarres, de l'illusion d'optique sur le cerveau humain dans son dernier livre intitulé "Le nouveau livre des illusions d'optique«. Beaucoup de choses sont perdues dans le processus de communication entre les yeux et le cerveau. Dans la plupart des cas, les deux systèmes forment une bonne équipe, mais il y a des moments où les yeux transmettent des signaux confus et le cerveau les interprète comme il ne devrait pas le faire.

Les modèles sont peut-être les plus déroutants. Votre cerveau déteste décoder les modèles complexes. Par exemple, sur l'illusion de l'échiquier ci-dessous, des points blancs créent une profondeur spatiale. Les scientifiques n'ont pas d'explications, mais il pourrait s'agir de l'arrêt du modèle lié. Le cerveau veut croire que la feuille a un modèle uniforme, donc il déforme l'image pour la simplifier.

Comment-les-illusions-optiques-jouent-avec-nos-esprits-Technobezz-1

Les yeux de ce personnage de manga sont-ils de couleurs différentes? Pas du tout, mais le filtre rouge fait apparaître l'œil gauche en bleu, bien qu'il soit gris. Ceci est similaire à l'illusion de la controverse qui a divisé Internet en deux camps: ceux qui l'ont vu en blanc et or et ceux qui l'ont vu en bleu et or.

Comment-les-illusions-optiques-jouent-avec-nos-esprits-Technobezz-2

Des chercheurs de l'Université de Bristol ont trouvé cette illusion dans les années 70 en regardant les murs d'un café. Les lignes grises entre les colonnes des carrés noirs et blancs semblent se courber, mais en réalité, elles sont parallèles. Votre cerveau, submergé par le contraste des carrés noirs et blancs, perçoit les lignes comme appartenant soit à la colonne d'en haut, soit à la colonne d'en bas.

IMPRESSION

Une autre illusion d'optique intéressante est celle des fleurs violettes. Certains verront juste une fleur tandis que d'autres verront le profil de Napoléon Bonaparte, de sa femme Marie Louise d'Autriche et de leur fils. Ce type d'image est souvent utilisé pour tester certaines capacités mentales, dont l'attention.

Comment-les-illusions-optiques-jouent-avec-nos-esprits-Technobezz-4

Technobezz

How Are Optical Illusions Playing With Our Minds

We like optical illusions for thousands of years. The Romans used to make 3D mosaics in order to decorate their homes, the Greeks have manipulated perspectives to create impressive pantheons, and, at least, one paleolithic sculpture will look like two animals at the same time if you look closely.

Georg Rüschemeyer explores the science behind this, at least bizarre, effects of the optical illusion on the human brain in his latest book named “The New Book of Optical Illusions“. Much is lost in the communication process between the eyes and brain. In most cases, the two systems are a good team, but there are times when the eyes are transmitting confusing signals and the brain interprets them as it shouldn’t do.

The models are perhaps the most confusing ones. Your brain hates to decode the intricate patterns. For example, on the chessboard illusion below, white dots are creating spatial depth. The scientists have no explications, but it could be related model’s discontinuation. The brain wants to believe that the sheet has a uniform model, so it distorts the image in order to simplify it.

How-Optical-Illusions-Are-Playing-With-Our-Minds-Technobezz-1

Are the eyes of this manga character different colors? Not at all, but the red filter makes the left eye appear blue, though it’s gray. This is similar to the controversy illusion that divided the Internet into two camps: those who saw it in white and gold and those who saw it in blue and gold.

How-Optical-Illusions-Are-Playing-With-Our-Minds-Technobezz-2

Researchers at the University of Bristol found this illusion in the ’70s when watching a cafe walls. The gray lines between columns of the black and white squares appear to curve, but in reality, they are parallel. Your brain, overwhelmed by the contrast of black and white squares, perceives the lines as belonging to either the column from above or to the column below.

Print

Another interesting optical illusion is the one of the violet flowers. Some people will see just a flower while others will see the profile of Napoleon Bonaparte, of his wife Marie Louise of Austria and their son. This type of image is often used to test certain mental abilities, including attention.

How-Optical-Illusions-Are-Playing-With-Our-Minds-Technobezz-4

More on this topic

Leave a Reply

Borderlands 3
Borderlands 3: News, Rumors and Release Date
Want to buy one of the best Chromebooks under $300? See these
The Last Of Us Part II
The Last Of Us Part II Release Date 2019: Rumors And News
Here are some of the best gaming monitors under $150
Android Apple Gaming How To Internet iPhone Personal Computers Review Site review The Top Best
Borderlands 3
Borderlands 3: News, Rumors and Release Date

The rumors about the release of Borderlands 3 have been around...

Want to buy one of the best Chromebooks under $300? See these

A Chromebook is a specific type of laptop with just one...

Best Food Delivery Apps For iPhone
Best Food Delivery Apps For iPhone

Gone are the days when we called a restaurant to order...