Facebook has many different privacy settings with which you can control who can see your posts. Using these privacy tools, you can be completely invisible on Facebook, depending on how you configured your profile. There is a way to temporarily hide your profile on Facebook, to be invisible, but to continue to be present on this social network. This guide will show you how to hide your profile on Facebook.
You may also read: How To Download Videos From Facebook Without The Third-Party Programs
How To Hide Your Profile On Facebook
If you want to hide your profile from the others, you need to follow these six steps:
Hide your future posts
When you click on the padlock icon in the top-right corner, you will get a drop-down menu. Click on “Privacy” and then on “Who can see my stuff” which contains the “Who can see my future posts”. This option should always be set to “Friends” or “Custom” – special list of friends that you can add manually. Of course, you can also select an option – “Only me”, in this case, only you can see your posts.
Hide posts from the past
To control who can see posts that you have already shared on Facebook, from the same menu, click on “Limit Past Posts” < “Limit old posts” and confirm the action pressing “Confirm” button.
Hide your name from search
In the same menu, there is the option “Who can look me up?” where you can remove the option that people can find you on Facebook using your email address or phone number.
Hide your name from search engines
In addition, you can set that no one can find you on Facebook, and in the same menu (below) there is an option you can disable if you don’t want your name to appear on search engines. (Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile?). Click on “Edit” link and uncheck the given option.
Turn off tagging
You can avoid that someone tag you in a photo or in the post without even asking you, by changing settings in “Timeline and Tagging Settings” section. Find the option “Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline?” and turn it on. After that, you will be notified when someone try to tag you, and you will have the possibility to choose what will be on your profile.
Quit all applications
Using applications, Facebook collects more information about users. To avoid this, in the menu, find the “Apps” and take a look at applications that you have logged into and disconnect them.
Image Source: www.kuleuven.be
You may also read: How To Make Animated GIF From YouTube Videos