A recent update from Google for Gmail has made improvements to its security capabilities, particularly because of the WannaCry attacks. However, it would appear that not everyone will benefit from these features. WananCry was an attack that affected the NHS and the computer systems of about 150 countries. The attack manifested itself in the shape of a software that locked out your access to the computer system until you have paid a sum of a money, i.e. a ransom. The victims were also warned that if they didn’t follow-up with a payment, then they will lose all their personal information.
Google did not just leave these attacks to go by, as they have been rolling out an update that seeks to bolster defenses against such attacks. However, it is only made available for enterprise users only. Businesses will also be receiving two new features that previous users had access to, namely the phishing detection system and the click-time warnings. On top of these, there will also be a third feature, which will display a warning for you to if you wish to reply to e-mail addresses that seem suspicious or are unrecognized. This is done because spammers find useful information for them when you reply.
Gmail Enterprise users
Now, Enterprise users will be receiving a warning each time they attempt to reply to an email that the system detects as being suspicious, or who is not part of your contact list. However, this warning also appears when you try to reply to someone you know and have interacted before, but also to those who are not part of your business environment.
Google also promised that the new security features they have implemented will block threats by the millions. In their words,’’ millions of additional emails that can harm users.’’