Advertisment

Fitbit sera la propriété de Google; Le géant de la technologie promet la confidentialité des données


Fitbit sera la propriété de Google; Le géant de la technologie promet la confidentialité des données

Le fabricant de trackers de fitness Fitbit deviendra désormais une entreprise appartenant à Google avec l'annonce officielle à ce sujet. L'accord vaut 2.1 milliards de dollars et le prix de l'action auquel la transaction est conclue est bien inférieur au genre de sommets que l'action Fitbit avait connus à ses jours de gloire. Un des points clés de cette nouvelle acquisition Google se lancera dans le secteur des appareils portables avec son OS Wear et rivalisera avec des grands comme Apple et Samsung. L'autre point fort est que Google a réalisé les critiques qu'il obtient pour le traitement des données personnelles et la société a promis de faire très attention aux données qu'elle pourrait collecter lors du lancement des appareils portables de la gamme Made by Google.

Google veut travailler sur l'espace santé et remise en forme

Senior VP Devices & Services de Google, Rick Osterloh a rédigé un blog sur le site Web de Google sur le rachat de Fitbit et la façon dont l'entreprise envisage l'opportunité. Outre le logiciel Wear OS que Google a dans sa manche et d'autres technologies comme l'intelligence artificielle dont il est capable, le marché devrait bientôt assister à une nouvelle gamme de montres intelligentes. Reste à savoir si ceux-ci sont lancés sous la marque Pixel Watch ou dans la gamme Fitbit elle-même ou les deux. Le véritable changement de mains ne peut avoir lieu que l'année prochaine. Il reste donc un certain temps avant que les produits ne soient commercialisés.

Fitbit Smartwatch

Osterloh a mentionné dans son blog que Google poursuivra l'objectif que Fitbit avait mis en place au fil des ans pour aider les gens à mener une vie plus active et plus saine.

La confidentialité des données sera garantie

L'autre préoccupation majeure de Google dans la reprise et gérer l'activité de fitness tracker est lié à la confidentialité des données. Google a acquis une réputation dans le passé et même certains gouvernements veulent s'en prendre à l'entreprise pour avoir bafoué les normes de confidentialité des données. Une plainte majeure est que Google partage les données personnelles qu'il collecte avec des annonceurs sur sa plate-forme pour augmenter ses revenus. Il est considéré comme invasif par beaucoup. Cette fois, Google s'est engagé à ce que les données collectées via les trackers de fitness ou les smartwatches ne soient pas utilisées pour Google Ads. La société a offert l'assurance que les données collectées seront traitées de manière transparente et que la décision de les conserver ou de les supprimer sera laissée entre les mains des utilisateurs des appareils.

Advertisment

Advertisment

Obtenez plus de trucs comme ça
dans votre boîte de réception

Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion et recevez des produits intéressants et des mises à jour dans votre boîte de réception.

Merci de vous être abonné.

Quelque chose a mal tourné.

Advertisment

Bienvenue chez Technobezz

Installer l'application
×

Technobezz

Fitbit will be Google-Owned; The Tech Giant Promises Data Privacy

Fitness tracker maker Fitbit will now become a Google-owned enterprise with the official announcement on this coming through. The deal is worth $2.1 billion and the share price at which the transaction is being concluded is far less than the kind of highs the Fitbit stock had seen in its glory days. One key takeaway from this new acquisition is Google will get into the wearables business with its Wear OS and will compete with the biggies like Apple and Samsung. The other highlight is Google has realized the flak it gets for handling personal data and the company has promised that it will be very careful with the data it may collect when the wearables that are launched in the Made by Google range.

Google Wants to Work on the Health and Fitness Space

Google’s Senior VP Devices & Services, Rick Osterloh has written a blog on Google’s website on the Fitbit takeover and the way the company looks at the opportunity. Besides the Wear OS software that Google has up its sleeve and other technologies like artificial intelligence that it is capable of, the market should witness a new range of smartwatches soon. Whether these are launched under the Pixel Watch brand or in the Fitbit range itself or both, remains to be seen. The actual change of hands may happen only next year. There is, therefore, some time before the products are out in the market.

Fitbit Smartwatch

Osterloh has mentioned in his blog that Google will carry forward the focus that Fitbit had established over the years in helping people lead more active and healthier lives.

Data Privacy Will be Ensured

The other major concern for Google in taking over and managing the fitness tracker business is related to data privacy. Google has earned a reputation in the past and even some governments want to go after the company for flouting data privacy norms. One major complaint is that Google shares the personal data it collects with advertisers on its platform to boost its revenues. It is considered invasive by many. This time Google has committed that the data collected through the fitness trackers or smartwatches will not be used for Google Ads. The company has offered assurance that the data collected will be handled in a transparent manner and the decision to keep it or delete it will be left in the hands of the users of the devices.

More on this topic

Best coffee makers under $100 in 2020

Looking for the best coffee makers under $100 could be a fun shopping experience for many. There are so many amazing coffee makers within this price point and for the

Best 24-Inch Monitors in 2020

Today, there are different types of efficient LCD and LED monitors available in the market. A 24 inches monitor is most comfortable for watching content, although bigger monitors are also

Best 27-Inch Monitors in 2020

With rapid developments in technology, computer peripherals are going through a renaissance of sorts when it comes to design and features. A great monitor can make all the difference between

Top Best Qi Wireless Charging Power Banks in 2020

Keeping a power bank handy makes life easier when you are in the office, on a trip or have simply run out of battery on your phone at the most

Best Graphics Cards to Buy in 2020

Are you an ardent PC gamer? Do you love building your own gaming setup so that you could enjoy games at UHD 4K resolution with Nvidia hair works and maybe

Leave a Reply