Back in March, Facebook announced On This Day feature, that allows you to look back at the things you’ve shared or the posts you’ve been tagged-in on the same date in the past. You are the one who can see On This Day page. You can edit, delete, or share your memory with friends if you want to. This feature brings back all the memories without exception, good or bad, and everything in between. However, for some people, to bring back the bad memory means to recall the traumatic and painful feelings, such as the death of a beloved one, or a post when you broke up with your boyfriend and you are loving him still, and so on.
To overcome this issue, Facebook added filters to On This Day feature, which can give more control to it.
“We know that people share a range of meaningful moments on Facebook,” said a spokesperson for the company in a statement. “As a result, everyone has various kinds of memories that can be surfaced — good, bad, and everything in between. So for the millions of people who use ‘On This Day,’ we’ve added these filters to give them more control over the memories they see.”
Through this filters, users are allowed to specify a certain person related to the post you don’t want to share, or date you don’t want to be reminded of. Once you set these specify, the filters will remember it for the future.
Source: The Verge