Das Marketing-Gambit von EA, mit dem die Sims 4 kostenlos heruntergeladen werden können, war ein großer Erfolg

Geschrieben von Bogdana Zujic

Das Marketing-Gambit von EA, mit dem die Sims 4 kostenlos heruntergeladen werden können, war ein großer Erfolg

Das Basisspiel Sims 4 durfte für kurze Zeit kostenlos heruntergeladen werden, und dieser Schritt des Spielentwicklers Electronic Arts erwies sich als kalkuliert. EA hätte erwartet, dass diejenigen, die mit dem Spielen des Spiels begonnen haben, definitiv daran interessiert sind und Einkäufe im Spiel tätigen, und das hat sich auch als richtig erwiesen. EAs anderes beliebtes Spiel Apex Legends, die auch kostenlos heruntergeladen werden kann, harkt in der Regel in der Moolah für das Unternehmen. Jetzt hat Sims 4 einen guten Kampf durch das Sammeln von Einnahmen gegeben.

7 Millionen Downloads und anständige Einnahmen durch Einkäufe

Laut EA gab es während der "kostenlosen" Periode 7 Millionen Downloads des Spiels und das Unternehmen hat eine neue Island Living-Erweiterung für das Spiel veröffentlicht, die fast zeitgleich mit diesem Fenster übereinstimmt. Wie bereits erwähnt, war nur das Basisspiel kostenlos verfügbar und die Spieler mussten für die DLCs bezahlen. Auf diese Weise strukturieren die Spielevermarkter ihr Geschäft und die Kunden haben nichts gegen die Vereinbarung.

Es ist kein Zufall, dass die Einnahmen aus dem Kauf von DLCs als Add-Ons im Spiel für EA im gleichen Zeitraum um 55% gestiegen sind.

Das Sims 4 PS4 Update

Seine Sims 4 gegen Apex Legends

Das Interesse der Beobachter ist, wie viel Wettbewerb die beiden Spiele desselben Entwicklers in Bezug auf die Einnahmen für das Unternehmen generieren können. Der zu beachtende Aspekt ist, dass die Kunden für jeden Einkauf, den sie im Rahmen des Apex Legends-Spiels tätigen, kleinere Beträge zahlen müssen. Im Fall von Sims 4 können die einzelnen zu zahlenden Beträge höher sein, aber die Häufigkeit der Käufe kann geringer sein. Das macht den Vergleich interessant. Apex Legends war ein großer Umsatzbringer für EA.

Wie das Unternehmen während der Ergebnisaufforderung für das Quartal mitteilte, Beide Spiele waren maßgeblich Bei der Skalierung erreichen die Umsatz- und Gewinnzahlen des Unternehmens ein Rekordniveau. Sie haben die Erwartungen übertroffen. Das Unternehmen geht davon aus, dass sich dieser positive Trend auch in den nächsten Quartalen fortsetzen wird.

Holen Sie sich mehr solche Sachen
in deinem Posteingang

Abonnieren Sie unsere Mailingliste und erhalten Sie interessante Produkte und Updates für Ihren E-Mail-Posteingang.

Danke fürs Abonnieren.

Etwas ist schief gelaufen.

Technobezz

EA’s Marketing Gambit to Allow Free Download of The Sims 4 Was a Huge Success

The basic game Sims 4 was allowed to be downloaded free for a brief interval and this move by the game’s developer Electronic Arts proved to be a calculated one. EA would have expected that those who started playing the game would definitely be hooked on to it and make in-game purchases and that proved to be true as well. EA’s other popular game Apex Legends, which is also free to download, usually rakes in the moolah for the company. Now, Sims 4 has given it a good fight through collecting revenues.

7 Million Downloads and Decent Income through Purchases

According to EA, there were 7 million downloads of the game during the ‘free’ period and the company has released a new Island Living expansion to the game almost coinciding with this window. As mentioned, only the basic game was available for free and the gamers had to pay for the DLCs. That is how the game marketers structure their business and the customers don’t mind the arrangement.

It is not a mere coincidence that the revenue from the purchase of DLCs as add-ons in the game rose 55% around the same period for EA.

The Sims 4 PS4 Update

Its Sims 4 vs. Apex Legends

The interest among observers is how much of a competition the two games from the same developer can generate in terms of earning revenues for the company. The aspect to be noted is that the customers need to pay smaller amounts for each of the purchases they make within the Apex Legends game. In the case of Sims 4, the individual amounts to be paid may be higher but the frequency of purchases may be less. That makes the comparison interesting. Apex Legends has been a big revenue earner for EA.

As revealed by the company during the earnings call for the quarter, both these games have been instrumental in scaling the company’s revenue and profit figures reach record levels. They exceeded the expectations. The company expects that this positive trend will continue into the next few quarters as well.

More on this topic

Best MacBooks To Buy in 2020

Apple follows a very specific pattern when it comes to upgrading their MacBooks and releasing new models with different screen sizes. For a first-time buyer, it may look intimidating to

Best Headphones To Buy In 2020

Headphones are invading human life everywhere. There are different styles and configurations and the options are so many that it could be quite daunting to select the best one. They

Best Microphones for Recording Vocals Of 2020

The recording setup initiated by a professional or an enthusiastic newbie composer is truly justified only when you have the best microphones for recording vocals. The singer’s voice is the

The Best Laptops For Graphic Design To Buy in 2020

Graphic designers need powerful laptops that can handle huge software programs, so if you are searching for one of the best laptops for graphic design 2020 then we have a

Top Best Laptops For Programming Of 2020

Programmers are always desirous of impeccable performance, good battery life and portability in their machines. Laptops are so much more than just a means of watching videos, playing games and

Leave a Reply