There are many social networking sites these days, but Facebook is probably the most popular and most addictive one. You can connect with your friends and family from all around the globe, share your thoughts, photos and videos, play games, and a lot more. If you noticed that you spend too much time using Facebook and that you need a break, or if you simply don’t want to use it for a while, you can deactivate your account temporarily. If you choose to do this, don’t worry, because you can reactivate it anytime you want just by logging in. On the other hand, deleting the account means you won’t be able to reactivate it and your content will be lost. What we are going to show you here is how to deactivate your Facebook account.
You may also read: How To Delete Your WhatsApp Account
How to deactivate your Facebook account
If you are positive that you will never use your Facebook account again, we have provided instructions on how to permanently deactivate your account.
- Step 1: To the right of the screen, click the settings icon.
- Step 2: Choose "Account Settings."
- Step 3: On the left side of the screen, click "Security."
- Step 4: At the bottom of the Security Settings screen, click the "Deactivate your account" link.
- Step 5: Fill up the blanks on this page with your information. Are you certain you want your account to be deactivated? with special emphasis paid to the Email opt-out: At the bottom of the page, check the box.
- Step 6: Enter your password here
- Step 7: Fill out the 'Captcha' box with the letters.
- Step 8: You will be notified by email when your account has been deactivated. Simply click on the link in this email or go to Facebook and log in to reactivate your Facebook account.
What happens when you cancel your account?
- Your profile is not visible to anybody else.
- Some data, such as messages you send to friends, may still be viewable.
- Your pals may still see your name on their list of friends. This is only accessible to your pals, and only from their list of friends.
- Group administrators may still view your posts and comments, as well as your name.
- People who search for your Page will not be able to find it if it is disabled. If you do not want your Page to be canceled, you can delegate complete authority to someone else. You will then be able to delete your account while keeping the Page active.
What about Messenger?
Bear in mind that if you want to keep Messenger active or if you are signed into Messenger when you deactivate your Facebook account, Messenger will continue to function. Discover how to disable Messenger. Once your Facebook account has been disabled but you continue to use Messenger:
- You may still use Messenger to communicate with pals.
- Your Facebook profile image will still be accessible in Messenger discussions.
- Other individuals might look for you in order to send you a message.
Should You Deactivate or Delete?
You have two options on Facebook: deactivate or delete your account. When you deactivate your Facebook account, you can reactivate it at any time. Users will be unable to access your timeline or search you while it is deactivated, and the pages you control will be deleted. Some information, such as messages you send, may, however, be available to other users.
When you delete your account, it's gone for good, and you can't get it back. Within a few days of your choice, anything you've added to your account is permanently wiped. Messages you sent after your account was deactivated may still be accessible to friends
You may also read: How To Send A Direct Message On Instagram