Advertisment

L'écran japonais du fournisseur OLED d'Apple reçoit l'aide du géant de Cupertino


L'écran japonais du fournisseur OLED d'Apple reçoit l'aide du géant de Cupertino

Apple Inc a investi massivement dans l'un de ses fournisseurs de panneaux d'affichage OLED, Japan Display. La société japonaise traverse actuellement une crise de liquidité qui menace sa survie même. Apple aurait fait un pas en avant pour renflouer l'entreprise japonaise grâce à des paiements plus rapides pour les fournitures et d'autres ajustements. Ces détails sont apparus grâce à une interaction médiatique qu'a eue le nouveau PDG de Japan Display. Apple n'a pas été nommé par lui, mais c'est implicite.

Les problèmes financiers de Japan Display

Japan Display a tenté de raffermir ses finances et un consortium dirigé par un investisseur chinois Harvest, mais les investisseurs se sont retirés à la dernière minute. La société a un nouveau PDG Minoru Kikuoka qui tente de lever des fonds auprès de différentes sources. C'est dans ce contexte que le PDG a déclaré aux médias que les problèmes de liquidité immédiats sont résolus par des paiements de la part des clients pour des fournitures de panneaux d'affichage expédiées avant les dates d'échéance normales. Il n'était vraiment pas nécessaire pour lui de mentionner Apple par son nom, car environ les deux tiers de la production de Japan Displays sont destinés uniquement à Apple. Avec Apple devrait inclure l'écran OLED panneaux dans tous ses modèles de l'année prochaine, Japan Display peut continuer à être la principale source pour la société américaine.

Écran LCD Apple

Autres moyens de financer l'affichage du Japon

On apprend que Apple avait réalisé un investissement de 900 millions de dollars plus tôt dans Japan Display pour couvrir les dépenses en capital liées à la construction d'une nouvelle usine de fabrication. Ce montant est remboursé par la société japonaise. Il est également rapporté qu'Apple a accepté de ralentir ce remboursement pendant une durée permettant au fabricant de panneaux de reprendre son souffle. Parallèlement, Japan Display lève également des fonds à hauteur de 470 millions de dollars suite au retrait du consortium comme mentionné ci-dessus. Sur ce montant, Apple pourrait à lui seul contribuer environ 200 millions de dollars sur le chiffre de 370 millions de dollars indiqué par le PDG de Japan Displays. Un autre investissement d'environ 180 millions de dollars proviendra probablement d'un investisseur basé à Hong Kong.

Pour l'avenir immédiat, la fortune de Japan Display semble être liée aux largesses d'Apple Inc.

Advertisment

Advertisment

Obtenez plus de trucs comme ça
dans votre boîte de réception

Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion et recevez des produits intéressants et des mises à jour dans votre boîte de réception.

Merci de vous être abonné.

Quelque chose a mal tourné.

Advertisment

Bienvenue chez Technobezz

Installer l'application
×

Technobezz

Apple’s OLED Vendor Japan Display Receives Help from the Cupertino Giant

Apple Inc has invested heavily in one of its OLED display panel suppliers, Japan Display. The Japanese company is currently undergoing a liquidity crisis that is threatening its very survival. Apple has reportedly stepped forward to bail the Japanese company out through faster payments for supplies and other adjustments. These details have emerged through a media interaction the new CEO of Japan Display has had. Apple has not been named by him, but it is implied.

Japan Display’s Financial Woes

Japan Display has been trying to firm up its finances and a consortium led by a Chinese investor Harvest, but the investors pulled out at the last minute. The company has a new CEO Minoru Kikuoka who is trying to raise funds from different sources. It is in this context that the CEO told the media that the immediate liquidity issues are being addressed through payments from customers for supplies of display panels being expedited ahead of the normal due dates. There was really no need for him to mention Apple by name since around two-thirds of the production from Japan Displays is meant only for Apple. With Apple expected to include the OLED display panels in all its models from next year, Japan Display can continue to be the key source for the US company.

Apple LCD

Other Ways of Financing Japan Display

It is learned that Apple had made an investment of $900 million earlier in Japan Display for meeting the capital expenses of building a new manufacturing facility. This amount is being repaid by the Japanese company. It is also reported that Apple has agreed to slow down this repayment for a duration enabling the panel maker to regain breath. Meanwhile, Japan Display is also raising funds to the tune of $470 million following the withdrawal of the consortium as mentioned above. Of this amount, Apple alone may contribute around $200 million of the figure of $370 million indicated by the Japan Displays CEO. Another around $180 million is likely to come from a Hong Kong-based investor.

For the immediate future, Japan Display’s fortunes appear to be tied to the largesse from Apple Inc.

More on this topic

Best stand mixers in 2020

Stand mixers are useful appliances that make life easier in the average household. With these, you can come up with enough dough to make dozens of cookies or make milkshakes

Top Best Blenders to buy in 2020

A blender is a cool unit to feature in your perfect kitchen. Blenders are ideally used to crush, grind or make a pulpy, fresh juice out of any ingredient that

Best Laptops for Freelancers To Buy In 2020

Freelancing is a fun way to make a living because most freelancers get to work at their own pace, from their choice of location. Being always on the move demands

Best Ultrabooks Under $500 Of 2020

The laptops and ultrabooks have come a long way since the assumption that those that are budget-friendly aren’t good. Google changed this view with their cheap Chromebooks with amazing build

Best Digital Cameras in 2020

Today, almost any camera except those found on smartphones and tablets is a digital camera. The basic models of these cameras are compact and usually easily portable. They operate with

Leave a Reply